Alphabet Inc’s Google on Tuesday said it would delete accounts that had remained unused for two years starting December, in a bid to prevent security threats including hacks.
The company said that if a Google account had not been used or signed into for at least two years, it might delete the account and content across Google Workspace, which includes Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet and Calendar, as well as YouTube and Google Photos.
The policy change only applies to personal Google Accounts and not to those for organizations like schools or businesses.
In 2020, Google had said it would remove content stored in an inactive account, but not delete the account itself.
Starting Tuesday, Google will send multiple notifications to the account email address and recovery mail of the inactive accounts before deletion.
Last week, Elon Musk said Twitter would remove accounts that have been inactive for several years and archive them, saying that the action is “important to free up abandoned handles.”
Source : Reuters
Benchmark Brent crude oil futures rose past $100 a barrel. London's FTSE 100 hit its…
The Trump administration on Tuesday blasted Ford Motor's business partnerships with Chinese companies, saying they pose…
Environmental campaign groups lodged a complaint against the European Commission on Tuesday, accusing the EU…
U.S. Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent advocated on Tuesday for Washington's use of financial power as…
A fight over major cryptocurrency legislation has spilled into the congressional summer recess, with the…
Chime shares surged 10% before the bell on Wednesday after the fintech firm agreed to buy Stride…